The Ven. Martin Webster, Archdeacon of Harlow, will be showing some of his paintings in the boardroom at Guy Harlings, the Diocesan office for Chelmsford which will be open to visitors between 10am and 4pm on 8 September as part of Heritage Open Days.
Guy Harlings is a Grade II listed building, constructed in about 1716-1721 by John Comyns, later a Baron of the Exchequer, and re-fronted at the beginning of the 19th century. Three parts of the building will be open: the front hall, containing 16th century linenfold panelling with a frieze of carved heads, made of timber probably from the Tudor house on this site; the board room; and the resources centre (bookshop). The rooms overlook an expansive lawned garden. The name of the building comes from Guy Harlings who inherited a brewery on the site in 1453. The building has housed the offices of Chelmsford Diocese since 1951. A pamphlet will be available and items of interest will be on display.
Discover the history of Guy Harlings, browse the bookshop, find out about the print unit and take a look at the art on display in our boardroom. The Dean of the Chelmsford Cathedral, The Very Revd Peter Judd will be offering a tour of the Cathedral starting from Guy Harlings at 11am.